# Gary Neil Prize for Innovation in Drug Development

The *Gary Neil Prize for Innovation in Drug Development* was established in 2004 to honor the memory of Gary Neil, PhD. Dr. Neil, a former leader of worldwide Research and Development at Wyeth-Ayerst, was a pioneer in the field of drug development. Dr. Neil was instrumental in creating a highly effective drug development and strategic decision-making structure at Alza through his roles as CEO and President of Therapeutic Discovery Corporation and Crescendo Pharmaceuticals Corporation. Dr. Neil had a significant role as a member of the boards of directors of Pharsight Corporation, Geron Corporation, Calydon, and several other biotech companies.

The goal of the *Gary Neil Prize for Innovation in Drug Development* is to stimulate the application of innovative science to clinical drug development by recognizing outstanding individuals or teams who have been leaders in this area.

## Eligibility

Individuals as well as teams who have demonstrated leadership in the application of significant, innovative science to clinical drug development. The award is open to individuals from all clinical pharmacologyemployment sectors.

## Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion:

ASCPT is committed to recognizing and promoting excellence in research, collaborations, and efforts that highlight dimensions of diversity. Nominators should address how the candidate has fostered a diverse and inclusive environment.

### **Prize and Presentation**

The *Gary Neil Prize for Innovation in Drug Development* will be presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will receive a plaque and a \$2,500 prize. Travel expenses, hotel expenses and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

### **Previous Recipients**

2025 - John Wagner, MD, PhD 2024- Piet van der Graaf, PhD 2023 - Liang Zhao, PhD 2022 - Rene Levy, PhD, and Isabelle Ragueneau-Majlessi, MD 2021 - Julie Stone, PhD 2020 - Robert Lionberger, PhD 2019 - Christine Garnett, PharmD 2018 - Richard Pazdur, MD 2017 - Richard L. Lalonde, PharmD 2016 - Peter H. Honig, MD, MPH 2015 - Robert Temple, MD 2014 - Shiew-Mei Huang, PhD 2013 - Thaddeus H. Grasela, PharmD, PhD 2012 - Carl C. Peck, MD 2011 - Lawrence J. Lesko, PhD 2010 - Nicholas H.G. Holford, MBChB 2009 - Janet Woodcock, MD 2008 - Dilip J. Mehta, MD, PhD 2007 - Richard J. Hargreaves, PhD

2006 - John Leonard, MD 2005 - Robert Desjardins, MD 2004 - Eric M. Gordon, PhD